ScottCon 2013 AAR

This past Saturday I was fortunate enough to find myself headed to Warner Robbins, GA for the summer IPMS show held at the Museum of Aviation adjacent to Robbins AFB.  I’d first heard about this show some six months ago (and subsequently forgotten about it) and was glad to be fortuitously reminded about it the Friday before.  So, I began heading south on Saturday morning with a full tank of gas and a mug of coffee.

Image

Inside the “Century of Flight” hanger, I was presented with an array of vendors in addition to, of course, the competition table.  I didn’t count, but there were probably 10 or 12 different vendors, all with an assortment of armor, aircraft, and ship models (as well as a few sci-fi, fantasy, and figure models).  I was disappointed to see an overall lack of photo-etch and resin accessories, not to mention the dearth of paint and supplies, but as this was my first IPMS show I’ll try to keep an open mind.  I was pleased to find a table stocked full of White Ensign Models brand enamels…if I’d known I would find that, I would have brought a more extensive shopping list.

Speaking of shopping, I did get quite a haul at the show:

Image

The Lexington was the only real impulse buy here, and will go alongside the SBD-3 when they are complete in a Coral Sea display.  The rest were kits that I’ve either been interested in or actively searching for, especially the Accurate Miniatures kits.

The kits that were up for competition ranged in scales and topics, but the overall theme of the show, “The Good Old Days,” guided the subjects toward the pre-Vietnam era.  I’ll include a few images of the competing models at the bottom of this post.

I wish I could tell you which was the winning entry in each category, but by 2:30 PM I had exhausted both myself and my hope of coming away a winner in the show raffle, so I packed up and headed back to Atlanta.  Still, my first taste of an IPMS show was an eye-opening experience, and I simply can’t wait for the next meeting in Marietta next spring.  Who knows, maybe by then I’ll have enough self-confidence to try my hand at competition.

Over the coming days and weeks I may post some prototype shots taken at the museum, including a B-52, A-10, and B-29.  Until then, take care.

ImageImage

Image

And I almost forgot: I made it into the Macon Telegraph’s brief story about the contest:

Image

Cheers, friends.

One thought on “ScottCon 2013 AAR

  1. Pingback: Build Log: Bronco Models 1:35 scale FI 103 RE-4 (Piloted V1), Pt. 1 | The Museum Modeler

Leave a Reply

