Relaunch/Failure to Launch

My, you’ve been patient!  Thank you so much for sticking with me and this blog.  Over the past year I’ve managed to let my focus get distracted from updating fellow modelers and interested parties to making general updates on my personal Facebook page.  I am a strong proponent of keeping the modeling community non-insular, but I also don’t want to scare away those friends of mine who care nothing for the hobby (read: most of them).  So, I think it makes sense to keep things narrowly dedicated both here, and on my new Facebook page, to the pursuit of the hobby.  So get over to http://www.facebook.com/themuseummodeler and check it out!

My main project over the past ten months has been a 1:700 HMS Hood diorama.  Spoiler alert!  As you can see in the sidebar, she was just finished last night.  I’m going to go back and document the stages of the build so as to get everything caught up here, but I’ll start with my inspiration for the project.

*******

HMS Hood is obviously most famous for having been easily dispatched by the Kriegsmarine’s Bismarck on May 24, 1941 in the Battle of the Denmark Strait.  Because of this, the vast majority of Hood builds have portrayed the ship as she appeared at that time.  Her earlier heyday in the Royal Navy, however, was a time that bestowed upon Hood a reputation as one of the grandest ships to serve the House of Windsor.

June 26, 1931, however, was not her finest hour.  As was custom in an era when the world’s navies were still figuring out just what to do with aircraft, Hood was fitted out with a Fairey IIIF floatplane designed for launch from a catapult atop the ship’s number 2 turret (called B Turret in Royal Navy parlance).  In mid 1931 she was fitted with a new catapult near the stern – a catapult that, it was soon discovered, would rarely cooperate in anything but the smoothest sea.  Off the coast of Weymouth, England that day, the floatplane was launched…and quickly went into the drink.

As Trumpeter was kind enough to model Hood in her earlier configuration and provide a floatplane, I would be remiss to let the chance to model such a singular event in the ship’s history slip through my fingers.  And so, ten months ago, the project began…

The beginning

Stay tuned for more. 😉

Again, thank you for reading, and for putting up with the extended hiatus from the blogging world.  It’s good to be back.  So as always: take care, and happy modeling.

Leave a Reply

