Sprue Cutters’ Union – Old Dog, New Tricks

Sprue Cutters' Union

I’m stoked to pass on the news that The Combat Workshop has decided to reboot its Sprue Cutters’ Union blog circle!  This is something that I missed out on in my pre-blog days, so I’m looking forward to participating in this monthly dialogue concerning a given topic.  Membership in the Union requires mutual links to each other members’ response to the given topic, so I’ll be linking to those at the bottom of this page.  Be sure to check out their thoughts, too!

With that said, this month’s topic is

What New Products/Techniques Will You Purchase/Attempt This Year?  

Appropriate for January 1, is it not?

As I stated in my previous post, 2014 saw some particularly exciting advances in my pursuit of the hobby.  I certainly hope to continue the trend in 2015 with, at the very least, the following products and techniques:

More Armor

My armor experience has been limited, to say the least.  I’ve completed 50% of the tanks I’ve begun, finishing a grand total of one (hey, at least I’m 1-1 – not bad if I was the Atlanta Falcons this year).  It’s not the scale that dissuades me, and it’s not even the techniques used.  Maybe armor subjects just don’t get me going in the morning.  That said, there are tremendous possibilities for subjects out there; knowing me, I probably need to focus on the most significant or notable developments first before conquering your everyday Shermans or Panzers.  I’m thinking WWI armor might fit that bill.  Takom has put out some gorgeous-looking kits the past year, including the early and late St. Chamond and the Mark IV.  Meng, too, has released the Ft-17 in 1:35 scale, so there look to be no shortage of appropriate subjects on the market.  I just need to get the gumption to tackle one – especially if I find an affordable A7V (it may be dog-ugly, but it is the first panzer, after all).  Maybe if one shows up in my stash while my wallet is looking the other way…

Takom's 1:35 St. Chamond, Early Type

Courtesy: Military Modeling

More WWI in General

Right now we are in the midst of The Great War centennial, an occasion that reminded me that I know far too little about this war to supposedly end all wars.  Independent research has started to give me a passing familiarity with the overall phases of the war and the social and technological changes it wrought upon the world.  Like the aforementioned tanks, I would love to take a stab at WWI naval power, particularly Battle of Jutland vessels.  An interesting merger between this desire and my lifelong-affection for Olympic Class vessels would be a build of the Lusitania as well, though that would inevitably need to also contain a torpedo track.

You know, that’s a good idea.  I might move that closer to the top of my list.

The British Grand Fleet at the Battle of Jutland

Courtesy: Wikipedia

Color Modulation

If 2014 was the year I learned to weather, I hope 2015 is the year I learn to create better depth and shadow using more than just oil washes and Tamiya X-19 Smoke.  The various articles I see in FineScale Modeler and on other great blogs show me that a lot of possibilities exist for deepening and enhancing the finish of my models.  This will be best attempted on larger-scale projects with large vertical surfaces and recesses, so it, too, may finally have a reckoning when my next armor project crosses my workbench.

Color Modulation

Courtesy: Mig Jimenz

 “Official” Washes

About a month ago I decided that I was going to invest in a couple of Flory washes, as well as some of the new (and apparently breathtaking) Mig Jimenez Ammo products.  Thus far, I have been satisfied by using thinned artists oils to enhance panel lines and grime effects, but the clamor over these products is beginning to become too loud to ignore.  Fortunately, it seems my local Hobbytown USA stocks the Mig washes, so some of those will likely end up on my painting table sooner rather than later.

Flory Wash on a Me-262

Courtesy: Doogs’ Models

Resin Kits and/or Products

Finally, I’d like to finally take a try at resin products.  I’ve been given a hard sales pitch for them at a couple of IPMS meets now, and the wide availability of specialty parts certainly complements this blog’s stated mission of creating historically accurate builds.  I know that I will need to invest in a few new tools, but fortunately I already acquired a respirator a few months ago – no carcinogenic dust for me!

Resin accurized replacement hull for Trumpeter's USS Hornet CV-8

Courtesy: Free Time Hobbies

 

Related Dispatches from The Union

A Scale Canadian

The Combat Workshop

David Knights’ Weblog

Doogs’ Models

The Eternal Wargamer

Greg’s Models

Kermit’s Bench

Mattblackgods’ World

Motorsport Modeller

Ninetails Scale Models

Scale Model Soup

Shutterace’s Blog

Yet Another Plastic Modeler

9 thoughts on “Sprue Cutters’ Union – Old Dog, New Tricks

  1. Very cool i love how you guys use a wash in comparison to what i do with a car. I also want to try the resin way further, i have dabbled with some items but as yet have not taken the plunge to go all out.

    Like

  2. Just discovered your blog through the Sprue Cutters Union (only back for ONE day and already reaping rewards :-)) and I really like it here. I prefer blogs that combine build logs and technique explanations (as opposed to just posting pictures of finished models).
    Looking forward to more. Happy new Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Jeroen. I’ve been asking Jon if and when he was going to get the SCU back up again. Looking at its previous incarnation, I’m glad I’m able to contribute this go-round.

      As for your kind words – thank you! Rather than just be a photo gallery or temple to The Perfect Build, I’d like my blog to be a forum where we can discuss all aspects of the hobby, from the actual building of the kit to the antecedent events that led to the kit’s creation in the first place. I’m glad to have you as a reader!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Sprue Cutters’ Union – Old Dog, New Tricks | Doogs' Models

  4. Pingback: Sprue Cutters Union – Old Dog, New Tricks | Kermit's Bench

  5. Pingback: Sprue Cutters’ Union – Old Dog, New Tricks | ShutterAce's Blog

  6. Pingback: Sprue Cutters Union | David Knights' Weblog

  7. Pingback: Sprue Cutter’s Union: Old Dog, New Tricks | Greg's Models

Leave a Reply

